Fourth of July (In August)…

Better late than never, right? I wanted to share the Fourth of July party we threw this year for my grandma’s 89th birthday. I’m still trying to get the hang of party planning, I tend to go a little overboard and I have to reign myself in quite a bit (creatively and financially…especially since G has been born). Anyway, the party ended up turning out great! And while I passed out on the couch shortly after putting G to bed for the night, everyone had a really wonderful time!

fourth of july

I ended up saving a lot of money with free printables I found on Pinterest and either making decorations from stuff I had at home or buying them from the 99 Cent Store and The Dollar Tree.

We decided to do “make-your-own” sliders and I made this adorable stand from 99 Cent Store plates and used decoupaged tin cans.

fourth of july_cake stand

I got the idea for fruit skewers and cupcakes from Pinterest.They were both a huge hit!

fourthofjuly_watermellonskewers

I made a centerpiece for the table with another tin can and votives I made out of baby food jars.

fourth of july_flowers

Not pictured…we also had a S’mores bar, fire pit, poppers for the kids, and everyone brought flowers to make a big arrangement for the birthday gal. My grandma was thrilled! G had fun splashing in his kiddie pool and all the kids enjoyed taking turns riding around in the “Fourth of July” wagon. I was already pretty much asleep but, I heard the local firework show was a great way to end the night!

Leave a Reply

