My End of Summer Graduation Fiesta

It’s really hard to believe that it’s already fall with the 90 degree weather we have been having! September has been a little extra special to me, because I finally finished my bachelor’s degree in Integrated Marketing. That’s right I am officially a college graduate! Woohoo! The past ‘almost’ two years have been pretty crazy trying to balance work, school at nights, and an active little toddler. I feel so blessed to have such supportive family and friends to stick by me through all the craziness. G has been a little trooper through all of it as well. I’m so excited to see what this next chapter of my life has in store for me. If anything, I did something that I never imagined I could actually accomplish. Even if it sounds silly to me saying now. This has really been a season of me finding myself, accepting myself, and pushing myself.

I decided to celebrate my accomplishment by throwing a small pineapple/fiesta/summer-y themed party with a few close family and friends. Since it still feels like summer, I thought it would be appropriate to share a few ideas from my special celebration before I completely transition to fall mode. I know I’ve said it before, but fall is my absolute favorite time of the year! I wanted to keep this party simple on myself (Haha), so I hired a taco cart to cater it. However, the decorations were not so simple and due to the crazy windy weather, I wasn’t able to put up everything I had planned. It still turned out adorable. I had margaritas with fixin’s, horchata (that was actually pretty amazing with a little bit of spiced rum!), a little mariachi band station for the kids equipped with guitars, bongo drums, maracas, etc., cute coloring pages for the kids, yummy candles for my guests to take home, and a beautiful cake from Whole Foods that my brother’s girlfriend decorated with flowers. She also made a couple super cute floral crowns for the photo booth.

Here’s to the last little remnant of summer! And I hope this gives you some ideas, if you are looking to throw your own fun fiesta themed party in the future. Ole!

f_baredited

Margarita’s anyone??

f_candles2edited

f_candlesedited

The adorable candle party favors were from ‘Midnight Glimmer’.

mamaandthesun-flowers-cake

How amazing is this cake, right!?

mamaandthesun-dipped-churros

mamaandthesun-fiesta-desserts

The dessert bar…

mamaandthesun-pineapple-cup

Party like a pineapple!

mamaandthesun-pineapple-tablescape

This tablescape was kind of a disaster with the wind…

mamaandthesun-fiesta-sombrero

mamaandthesun-fiesta-photo-booth

Photo booth fun!

f_flamingos

 

Party Favor:    Midnight Glimmer Candles

Pineapple Cups (spray painted gold) :   Oriental Trading , Amazon.com

Photo Booth Idea:   Pinterest/Evite

Free Coloring Pages:   Pinterest/Happy Thought

 

Save

Leave a Reply

